BOOM

October 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

A poem to honor the spectacular demolition of the Dunes Hotel


If you had a million dollars,
(maybe you do, I don’t know)
would you put it in the bank?
invest it? I mean,
spend a few thousand bucks to call in an  a d v i s o r ,
put some in an IRA, some in a money market fund,
buy real estate in Las Vegas, Colorado and
East Germany, buy a few stocks, a few bonds,
give one-tenth to a House of God, a little bit to save
endangered land and species,
then, with what was left over,
buy a house and a… a car.

If somebody gave you a million dollars,
maybe you’d fill the sky with light. THOUSANDS
of sparkly explosions, going boom. boom.
boom.

You could start a business.
a café. a gallery. a futuristic school for metaphysicians.
import/export. office supplies.
manufacture windmills. manufacture furniture.
manufacture houses.
You could start a trust fund for American poets,
or artists, with a very strict trustee, so they can’t
spend it all on beer.
You could spend it all on beer. or excellent wine.
or excellent marijuana. or cocaine.
or a colorful variety of hallucinagens.
boom.

or very healthy food.
or a very lovely health spa.
go for a Masters degree. or a phD.
or a ride in a space shuttle.
or embark
on a fantastic science experiment.

Man, if I could be a million dollars  p r o u d ,
maybe I’d fill the sky with light. THOUSANDS
of sparkly explosions, going boom. boom.
boom.

If you had a million dollars,
(maybe you do, I don’t know)
would you be sitting here like this?
or would you be out there like Jesus, healing the sick?
feeding the hungry? giving out free bibles?
Hey, what an impact. Like,
boom.

Buy a car. Buy a house. Buy CLOTHES.
Computer stuff. Cool electronic  t h i n g s .
Buy presents. Buy dishes. A couch.
Take a year off. Take a trip. Take a cruise.
Dig a little hole and bury it.

Man, if somebody gave me a million dollars,
maybe I’d fill the sky with light. THOUSANDS
of sparkly explosions, going boom. boom.
boom.

If I could be a million dollars  a n g r y ,
maybe I’d explode something.
I’ve always wanted to explode something.
When I was fourteen and mad at my mom,
I’d go outside and look at the buildings and pretend
I could just reach out my arm and shove them over.
boom.
boom.
boom.
It was a secret.
I never told anybody.
Not long ago, I closed my eyes and
had a sit down talk with the brooding
fourteen-year-old that still shadowed me.

I asked you, What do you want?
What do you need me to do?
You said, Nothing I do means anything. I have no power.
I said, Hey. Let’s go.
So we went outside and got real big, like giants,
and we walked down the street
and just reached out our giant arms
and shoved over
building after building.
boom.
boom.
boom.
boom.

We didn’t even have to justify it to city officials
with words like
IMplosion.

Man, if somebody gave me a million dollars,
maybe I’d fill the sky with light.

Maybe I wouldn’t.
Maybe I would call in an  a d v i s o r .
How much of that would go to TAXES?
old bills?
pleasing my parents?
or the apparitions of my parents?
or buying off the jealousy
of my less fortunate friends?
Maybe, I’d dig a little hole and bury some.
Then, maybe,
with what was left over
after I had ransomed my fear and guilt,
just because I went around spouting off about it,
I’d give a little fireworks show in the park.
boom.

IF
If
you could be a million dollars JOYFUL
and
EXUBERANT,
maybe you’d explode something.
Maybe you’ve always wanted to explode something.
So happy, you could burst.
boom.

Imagine
standing in the high tower of a House of God,
Jordan River a couple of miles behind you,
named by an  a n g e l …
pillars anointed
and dreams descending like THOUSANDS
of sparkly, crystalline Jacob’s Ladders,

THOUSANDS
of heavens at your fingertips, unfolding
in burst after burst after burst of light.
boom.
boom.
boom.

1993

 


Anything worth doing is worth overdoing.
—Steve Wynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading BOOM at Poems.

meta

