I would take that

April 4, 2014 § 1 Comment

Driving home tonight,
my son tells me how he loves the soft, green dash lights,
and in the waning glimpses I can still catch through his eyes,
I see that

As I pack my things to leave,
I’ll tuck the flow of sap inside my sleeves,
his nine first steps, and
his nervous taking-in of breath to sing for strangers.

I see that
I don’t care to pack pressed flowers, flasks of fragrance, wings of bees,
because these things are part of me.

But this ache
from the fearless grace I’ve witnessed, and
as it gracefully tears free,
will I carry always
as I leave it,
as it leaves me.

§ One Response to I would take that

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I would take that at Poems.

meta

