Never Arriving

February 15, 2017 § 1 Comment

It’s a hard habit to break, being
always on my way somewhere,
everything in motion
or just paused, waiting
for the next train
or the snow to melt
or the hill to wear away.

I’m fine with my itinerant life,
and I recommend it.
It’s just that I would sometimes like
this impatient tide to
slow long enough to soak the riverbed,
let some cattails grow, catch light,
and feel the tiny dragonflies whirring in my hair.

Leaving Union Station, photo by Penina S. Finger

§ One Response to Never Arriving

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Never Arriving at Poems.

meta

